Author Questionnaire: Judy Moore

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

As a child, I read all the time and was obsessed with fairy tales, the Dana Girls, and later Agatha Christie. But I was a math major and never thought seriously about writing until I took journalism my junior year in college and then changed my major from math. Once I started writing news and features, it came very naturally, and I knew it was the job for me.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Carl Hiaasen

Michael Connelly

John Grisham

Gillian Flynn

Agatha Christie

(The first two are graduates of University of Florida College of Journalism where I went.)

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Just watching people in everyday life, reading the newspaper, listening to the news, remembering the quirky people I’ve met in my life. And then taking it a step further.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Mystery, thriller, suspense, as well as lighter family and holiday fiction.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Several. I’ve written the first chapter of four or five new books. I’m just not sure which one I want to pursue. Having been a journalist, I write quickly, but it still takes me two months to write a book. I sort of don’t come up for air when I’m writing and go at it pretty hard, so it’s exhausting. But then it’s done, and I take a break for a while.

I really prefer writing novellas because I can write a 75- or 80- page novella in two weeks. And you can still have sound character development and an interesting plot in that length. But I think readers prefer novels.

 

Do you have any blogs?

I have started writing an author blog. It is posted on my Goodreads author page and at www.judymooreauthor.com

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

I have two mystery novels, a collection of three Christmas stories, and five novellas that are available in books and Kindle at: Amazon

Some are also available at: Barnes & Noble

 

If you could just feature one title, what would it be?

Murder in Vail. It’s the story of a former Olympic athlete, a simple middle class woman from Southern California, who happens to marry a billionaire. Her children are spoiled and have run through their trust funds. They and their spouses visit her for Christmas at her mountaintop estate in Vail, Colorado, and suddenly the bodies start piling up. They find themselves snowbound with a killer.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I grew up playing competitive tennis in Miami, played college tennis at Florida State, and became a pro. After injuries sidelined me a few years ago, I took up golf and still play. I also enjoy painting and, of course, reading. I’ve also been known to binge watch a show or two.

I also love to travel and take three or four trips a year. The most recent were to Iceland (my favorite) and Ireland. I’m about to take off to Spain. I used to be a travel writer and keep thinking I should write about the places I’m visiting. But I’m enjoying them too much to worry about that.

 

Tell us something about yourself.

I was a newspaper reporter, magazine feature writer, and editor of national business publications for most of my career. Because of my tennis background, I also wrote about tennis for years, as well as other sports. But now, I feel the most at home. I’m glad I’m at the point in my life that I can afford to write what I really want to write – fiction. I love coming up with oddball characters and writing books where the unexpected happens. I can’t stand formula stories. Sometimes, the bad guy might get away with it.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

My daughter, Jennifer, got married last year in a beautiful rooftop ceremony in St. Augustine, Fla. She’s an attorney and her new husband is filmmaker Patrick Meaney. He recently made the documentary Dream Dangerously on British writer Neil Gaiman that is very inspirational for writers. Another of his movies won best documentary at Comic-Con last year and his first indie, Trip House, just came out. He’s a real up-and-comer.

21 thoughts on “Author Questionnaire: Judy Moore

  1. Pingback: cherime Macfarlane

Leave a Reply

