Author Questionnaire: Phyllis Labrie Morneau

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?
I’ve always loved to read books. I remember as a child that I enjoyed reading fiction – especially, the Nancy Drew mystery books. I also enjoyed reading nonfiction books – especially, biographies of famous and inspiring people. Although I never aspired to be a writer when I was growing up, I did enjoy writing book reports and essays in school. But it wasn’t until I was 51, in the year 2004, when my husband was stationed in Iraq that I started writing every day, either by email or letters, sharing with my husband news of life back home in West Hartford, CT. I felt a passion to write creatively that I had never experienced before.

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)
My favorite authors of fiction are Phyllis F. McManus and B. J Robinson. I highly recommend reading their books. I also enjoy reading nonfiction and my favorite authors are John Eldredge, Max Lucado, and Philip Yancey.

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

For my memoir From My Heart to Yours: A Legacy of Love, I was first inspired when I read a small memoir that one of my husband’s cousins had written for her family and friends. I thought it was interesting and inspiring and thought that maybe I should write a memoir for my family. However, I wasn’t sure that I really wanted to commit myself to writing a book. It felt a little overwhelming to me. So I prayed about it and felt a strong desire from the Lord to write the love story of my grandparents, my parents, and myself set within God’s own story of His amazing love for each of us. I wrote it especially with my grandchildren in mind to share our family’s legacy of love. The main reason for writing my 2nd book was also for my grandchildren and a way to share my faith with them. I was inspired to write My Season of Writing: Bible Bedtime Stories, Poems, Prayers, and Songs during one of my quiet times with the Lord when I pray and meditate on His Word in the morning. It was definitely a challenge to write Bible stories and prayers in poetic form but it was very rewarding, too. Recently, the Lord put on my heart, during another quiet time with Him, to write some essays about the importance of hope during different times in our life. I have a Facebook community page called Hope for the Daily Grind: Morning Meditations on God’s Word. So, to answer your question, my inspiration usually comes when I am spending time with the Lord in the morning and meditating on His Word. That is the time when I feel a strong desire and am compelled to write about something the Lord has placed on my heart.

What genre(s) do you write?

Christian nonfiction. I have a passion to share God’s amazing and unconditional love with everyone who has an open heart to receive it.

Do you have any current or future projects?

I am currently writing essays periodically about the importance of hope in our daily life that I post on my Facebook community page Hope for the Daily Grind: Morning Meditations on God’s Word.

Do you have an author website?

I do not have an author website but I do have an author page (Phyllis Labrie Morneau) on Amazon.com

Do you have any blogs?

I do not have a blog, but I do have a personal Facebook page (Phyllis Labrie Morneau) and 4 Facebook community pages called: A Legacy of Love, My Season of Writing, Hope for the Daily Grind: Morning Meditations on God’s Word, and My Favorite Family Recipes.
Where can people find your work? (to purchase or just to read)

My books are available for the Kindle and paperback on Amazon.com. The paperback books are also available at www.bn.com.

 

If you could just feature one title, what would it be?
My Season of Writing: Bible Bedtime Stories, Poems, Prayers, and Songs. It is ideal for a parent or grandparent to read to their children.
Do you have any pseudonyms?
No pseudonyms.
Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?
I enjoy taking pictures of my family and then organizing them and putting them into photo albums as a pictorial history of our family.
Tell us something interesting about yourself.
I have always loved Fairy Tales. My favorite Fairy Tale is “Cinderella.” I remember watching it on television when I was about 12 years old. I thought it was a very beautiful love story. I actually wrote a poem for “My Season of Writing” called “Cinderella – My Life Story.”

Is there anything else you would like to share?
I would like to encourage anyone that is reading this to think about writing your own memoir for your family. My grandchildren love it when I read to them from my book – especially the funny stories about myself. In the future I think that they will treasure it as my gift to them where I shared my faith, my hope, and my love.

Leave a Reply

