Author Questionnaire: Claire Lalique

How old were you when you wanted to be a writer?

I was six when I wrote my first ballad, “There was a Japanese clown who lived in a Japanese town with his Japanese hound”.  But I didn’t think much about writing, I wanted to be a reader. At six I read 2-3 books a day and I still read 2-3 books every day.

 

Who are your favorite authors?

Diana Gabaldon is the perfect writer as far as I’m concerned. The only thing wrong with her books is it takes her a long long time to write them.

I also love Patricia Briggs and Ilona Andrews in the urban fantasy genre and Louis L’amour in Westerns. Reily Garrett and Lisa Renee Jones are my favorite erotic romance writers right this minute, and I always love Dani Wyatt.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I’ve written 1 ½ books so far and they are erotic romance. I’m looking forward to getting into darker visions of romance. My third book which continues the series, Shattered Krystal, is going to be very dark, written around the pain in Derick Black’s soul and how Maeve Donahue tries to save him.

 

Do you have an author website?

I’m pretty new so I have a FB page which I would love people to like and follow.  Also my first book is on Goodreads.

Facebook Author Page

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

My first book, Shattered Krystal will be coming out June 15. It will be on Amazon in e and paperback form.  Second book is Krystal Clear.  The third book’s working title is Shattered Haven, and the 4th title is Shattered Law.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

I love this question! Claire is a pseudonym or she is a disassociative personality of my umbrella persona.  My family is very religious and some of them are horrified about what I write. I’m trying to be empathetic about their feelings and separating “The Writer” from the “Relative”. But since they know who I am, I’m not sure it’s working except to totally confuse me as to who I am at any particular time.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Oh I have hobbies (alternate methods of money making that are fun to do)!  Any handcraft that was done in the middle 1800’s, I do. Knit, crochet, primitive rug hooking, Appalachian egg basket making, quilting.  I’m sure there is more.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I lived in eastern Kentucky for ten years and raised goats, chickens, turkeys, and one emu. The stories around that part of my life were numerous and very funny as long as you weren’t me.

Once I slid down the muddy hill to the barn and broke my leg. I was alone, no cell phones, and the baby goats thought this was a fantastic new game; to leap on top of me and to jump off or to leap over me, etc. The grownup goats were just concerned that I wasn’t continuing down the hill to feed them.  So they kept nudging me, trying to convince me to get up.  After I sat out on the hill in the October rain for several hours in agonizing pain, my cousin and his son happened to come over to visit and found me. They put me in the wheelbarrow and lugged me up the hill to their car and drove me to the hospital.

 

SYNOPSIS SHATTERED KRYSTAL “Life can change on a dime. When Krystal McKenzie was kidnapped by the Rattler King Motorcycle Gang she was broken, physically and mentally. She didn’t think she would ever recover and wasn’t sure she even wanted to. Enter rookie police officer Samuel Donahue, her knight in shining armour. After rescuing her, he was not going to allow her to be anything but healthy. Confident. Whole. After all – she was the love of his life. He knew it the minute he laid eyes on her. He wasn’t taking no for an answer.”

18835047_258313491313785_1844784688_n

Cover Reveal
Title: Shattered Krystal
Series: Shattered #1
Author: Claire Lalique
Genre: romantic suspense

Synopsis
Life can change on a dime.

When Krystal McKenzie was kidnapped by the Rattler King MC she was broken, physically and mentally. She didn’t think she would ever recover and wasn’t sure she even wanted to.

Enter rookie police officer Samuel Donahue, her knight in shining armour. After rescuing her, he was not going to allow her to be anything but healthy, confident. Whole.

After all – she was the love of his life. He knew it the minute he laid eyes on her.

He wasn’t taking no for an answer.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35227004-shattered-krystal

Pre-order

Amazon

Amazon UK

Author bio
Claire feels like she sprang into existence, a full blown personality, just like her books. She believes she is made from her imaginary dragons that lived in her closet when she was eight, her half feral imaginary friend, Jennifer, who lived in the Girl Scout Camp woods when she was ten and finally started growing up with her Water Brothers when she was sixteen.

Claire has has many living reincarnations in her life time before becoming an author. She has been a poet, a healer, midwife, nurse, artisan, mother, grandmother, wife and lover.

She and her dear husband (he claims she rescued him, she says it was the other way around) live with their four rescue birds, three rescue dogs and one rescue fish in the wilds of Tennessee in a house with at least two ghosts.

Author links
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Claire-Lalique-212091925905025/
Readers’ group: https://www.facebook.com/Claire-Lalique-212091925905025/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClaireLalique1
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16191406.Claire_Lalique
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Claire-Lalique/e/B06Y4QPRGF/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_5?qid=1495786378&sr=8-5

 

*Please check out the Facebook page for Claire Lalique’s ARC team:

Claire Lalique’s ARC Team

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

