Author Questionnaire: Debi Stanton

*This is an interview I have conducted with my friend and founder of Pen It! Publications, Debi Stanton.  Please feel free to browse her sites, as they offer a wide variety of many different titles and genres.

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer? 

My grandmother said she always knew I would write because even at a very young age, she would read me bedtime stories and after just once or twice, I would recite them back to her without the book.  I would always put my own twist on the story.

 

Who are your favorite authors? 

I love Jonathan Kellerman.  He is an amazing story teller and I love the fact that he carries his characters throughout most of his books.  I always loved poetry too and James Whitcomb Riley is one of my favorites…and of course Edgar Allan Poe.  I read a lot of biographies also.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration? 

Inspiration can come from all kinds of places.  I can get inspired by the smallest thing.  Maybe I hear a phrase or see something that sparks my imagination.  I don’t really limit myself from any particular experiences that might inspire me.

 

What genre do you write? 

I am all over the place!  I have coffee table books, humorous works, children’s books.  Again, I don’t like to put limits on what I can do.

 

Do you have any current or future projects? 

Oh, I always have 3 or 4 books going at one time.  Currently, I believe I have 5… whew, no wonder I’m tired!

 

Do you have an author website? 

I do, but I don’t update it much.  I’m so busy with other things I forget.  As a publisher I have Buy Me Books Now (book selling site) and Pen It! Publications.

 

Do you have any blogs? 

I actually work more on my cooking blog than anything:   Recipes from a Country Cook

 

Where can people find your work?  

Buy Me Books Now has all my books and if they order from this site, they will get a signed copy.  My books are also on Amazon under Debi Stanton and Debi Hurt.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

My last novel, The Fellowship Flock.  It is so funny and really didn’t take off.  I was actually surprised because it is probably my best work.  It centers around a little church in Fairhope Alabama…..  I recently changed the cover thinking that might be the issue….

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing? 

On occasion I make jewelry… and cooking is my passion.  I love it!

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself: 

My husband and I have four miniature Dachshunds and a Maltese.  Our cup runneth over with dogs…but we love them all.  I even wrote two coffee table books about Dachshunds:  The Loooooooong and the Short of It:  A Dachshund Coffee Table Book and The Loooooooonger and the Shorter of It:  A Dachshund Coffee Table Book II.  The third one is in the works!

 

Is there something else you would like to share?  

Yes, thanks Jen, I was traditionally published several years ago on a book called The White Sofa.  I really felt that the publishing company treated me like just a number.  So, along with my husband, we started Pen It! Publications, LLC.  In fact, you are one of our authors.   We are a traditional publisher who really cares about our authors and we try hard to make them feel as important as they really are!

Leave a Reply

