Author Questionnaire: Susan Reed

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

Actually, I wanted to learn how to type first, my mom had an old typewriter that was plastic, (but it worked) and I wanted to teach myself how that was done at the age of 10 during summer recess from school. I wrote small tiny playscripts and had a couple neighbor acquaintances who were my age, and I copied their lines and I thought it might be the start of doing something creative. They got tired of me doing that every time we hung out outside, I didn’t do them often, but it was short-lived for a couple weeks.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

J.K. Rowling

J.R.R. Tolkien

H.P. Lovecraft

Author of Nancy Drew books, the original (sorry I was only in 6th grade last time I read them)

Beverly Cleary (again, in 6th grade, read nearly all of her work)

 

Mostly poetry, I’m not much of a reader, I enjoy my own imagination. I also consider music with lyrics the same way with poetry, some do bring a great imagination with that as well.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

80’s rock music when I was much younger and felt like the World was my oyster. I’m sorry I don’t read much, I used to around 6th grade with writers with the original Nancy Drew series, select few from the early days of Stephen King.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Poetry. If I have an idea for a screenplay, which usually comes from a very good vivid dream in my sleep. (The latter I never submitted or wrote about)

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I have. 2 past poems that I submitted to a magazine online for certain poetry, one they refused because there was no category for it. The other was highly considered, but I didn’t get in the competiton for either one. I wrote both roughly in 2003, submitted roughly 1 1/2 years ago.

 

Do you have an author website?

No

 

Do you have any blogs?

Yes, it’s to do with a personal experience in my life, the owner was specific and said it could be only one because so many have them. It’s hard on my end to find, but I can find it with a bit of time, I don’t have it saved because it can cause too many memories that I have struggled with since 2002.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Nothing I wrote was ever published except my blog entry. I don’t own the site, the admin who runs it allowed me to post it. Please inquire about it via PM on Facebook. I’m not sure on the rules if I can republish my blog on that site or if it has to stay there. I can find it if need be and send a link.

 

If you could just feature one title, what would it be? 

Adding to the Star Wars trilogy with what I’ve thought about over the course of time and how I feel about what I know watching 4-6 endless times. Many main characters were never fully developed from what I’ve seen, such as, respectfully Princess Leia and Obi-Wan. I could go into detail on this, but it would be a long and very detailed read.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

I’m sorry, I’m not familiar with that word.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I do play online gaming, one I have been on and off since 2002, is EverQuest, it does tell a story line with certain quests and many connect with each other as you go through the game, it can be used with a headset, but mine broke many years ago. Online chat is used for friends and if you choose to be a part of a team of players, it’s called a guild. I read a ton on this game because there is no manual, so many help each other, websites can be found for if anyone has trouble with a quest. Also, as of a few months ago, the guild I’m in chose me to be a senior officer, which it’s the 2nd “rank” lowest to the leader of the guild. There is no bad violence with the server I’m on via any players, nothing gross when fighting monsters, but a ton of crafts can be had and honed with skills too, from baking to armor making.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

*I haven’t watched any TV show at all for many years, since 2008 or so. I used to have favorite shows and they had a good story line, but most of them are taken off the channels even in the midst of having them for that season, or the channel will say it’s the final show of what it is, it leaves the audience hanging and I don’t find much interest with what is on now.

*Also I have only 1 sister (no brothers), each one of my immediate family has to wear glasses since they were young. I believe I need them soon, but at the age of 18, they were checked via the Navy (I am an ex-Navy wife, 2 1/2 years of that), at that time I had 18/20 vision which if the number is lower than 20, it’s better vision than the regular number. Currently I have 40/25.

*I can also use my hand when I swim or in the tub as a squirt gun, I found that out on my own playing in the water in the tub and started to squeeze the water with my left hand, it goes about 10 feet when I do that, I have a natural squirt gun that my hand can do.

*I can do computer artwork with just a mouse and MSPaint, I frown at the idea of Photoshop, I won’t ever use it.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I do enjoy the History Channel for factual events, also my main love of music is progressive rock, which is a sub-genre of what rock is (bands like Genesis, The Who, U2, very little Pink Floyd, the latter is a downer for me, but I do highly recommend their last album of “The Endless River”, it’s all instrumental. Great album to listen to on low if anyone needs to get away in their mind for relaxation and focus for anything that needs done.

 

Leave a Reply

