Author Questionnaire: Alan Hewitt

*I am very privileged to post my latest interview, with Alan Hewitt.  Alan is the founder of The Waiting Room Online, a site for fans of the band Genesis.  TWR Online started in 1987, so this marks its 30th year.

 

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

 

I have always enjoyed creative writing although I never had any real aspiration to be a writer until I was persuaded back in 1987 to start writing The Waiting Room Magazine as it then was (now The Waiting Room Online) .  Once I got involved in that it was as if the floodgates were opened and I began to write a variety of different stuff – much of which will never see the light of day while I am alive!

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

 

Hmm… this is a tough one.  The first author whose work ever made any real impression on me was CS Lewis and the Narnia Chronicles although as I child I didn’t enjoy fiction.  I had the assessed reading age of a twenty one year old at age seven and my reading taste reflected that. As I was more determined to get information into my head.   Eventually I discovered the joys of JRR Tolkien whose work has remained a mainstay of my reading ever since.  Another couple from that field whom have made a lasting impression on me are HG Wells and John Wyndham who has to be, in my opinion, one of the finest fiction writers ever to come out of the UK.  I also thoroughly enjoy the works of HP Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe too.

 

These days I find myself more drawn to factual works especially history and naval history.  I am an honours graduate in the subject myself so this won’t be surprising I guess.  I find the works of British historians Dan Jones and Peter Rex particularly rewarding especially Rex’s as he deals with aspects of English history which have been ignored or poorly documented and his books are well written and fascinating as are Jones’s. For naval history the works of Andrew Lambert and NAM Rodger cannot come any more highly recommended.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

 

I find that my greatest inspirations are some of the musicians I have been incredibly lucky to form friendships with and in particular Steve Hackett and Anthony Phillips whose music and lyrics I admire and are an endless source of inspiration and encouragement.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

 

I have tried my hand at poetry, short stories and factual works including a biography (Steve Hackett).  I have tried to put together ideas for a novel too but the ideas are not hanging together right now.  Maybe one day.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

 

I am currently working on an update to one of my previous works as well as the ongoing work on TWR which is now approaching its thirtieth anniversary.

 

Do you have an author website?

 

Not an author web site per se: but the TWR web site is where you can find most of my currently published material – The Waiting Room Online

 

Do you have any blogs?

 

As above.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

 

My books (apart from the first one which is now long out of print) should be available on Amazon and in the case of my last two works, via the publisher’s web site: Wymer Publishing.

 

If you could just feature one title, what would it be? 

 

It would have to be the biography of Steve Hackett – Sketches Of Hackett as that is the work I am most proud of.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

 

Not as such although I have been known as A Stirrup (any Jethro Tull fans may get the reference there) and Alanh.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

 

Yes, when I am not writing I enjoy music and attend concerts in a wide variety of fields from rock to classical.  I also enjoy gardening, archaeology, and herpetology.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

 

I don’t find myself interesting so I don’t know how to answer this one.

Is there anything else you would like to share?

 

I think my work speaks for itself or at least I hope it does after all this time!

 

 

 

One thought on “Author Questionnaire: Alan Hewitt

Leave a Reply

