Author Interview: Clair Brett

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

The first story I remember writing was in third grade about a bird who fell out of their nest. I always fell back on writing when I was stressed in my life, but it wasn’t until I was an adult and a new mother. I found reading again, and it sparked my writing bug again, that was about 17 years ago.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Well, there are the classics like Jane Austen, George Orwell, but for modern authors I love Karen Hawkins, Eloisa James, and Lisa Gardner. I hate stopping at 5 it’s like saying who my favorite children are.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

My daughters. When I am writing, I try to think about what I want my daughters to take away from one of my stories. I want them to remember to be strong in the face of adversity, but to surround themselves with people they trust. I also use my daughters to vet my heroes. If I wouldn’t want one of my daughters to marry one of my heroes, he doesn’t make the cut.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I write Regency Historicals, but I also have some ideas in the future of a YA dystopia, and a Scotland Highlanders story

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

My current WIP is the second book in my Improper Wives for Proper Lords series, called An Heiress by Midnight.

All the books in this series have heroines that could turn the Ton on their ear. They are a very fun lot to work with, but they all have a tendency to zig when I am trying to zag.

 

Do you have an author website?

Clair Brett

 

Do you have any blogs?

Claire Brett Blog

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

iTunes

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

I have my debut novel releasing 1/31/17, so it would be that one.

Dealing with the Viscount

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

Clair Brett is my pseudonym

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Reading, obviously. I also have a degree in culinary arts, so I enjoy cooking and baking. I also crochet and quilt. I am raising a 16 and 17 year old, so not much time for hobbies.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I was adopted as a baby, but the twist is My natural mother’s aunt and uncle adopted me. I have a great relationship with my natural mother, and two of my sisters. I am a huge advocate for adoption because of my life.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I am humbled by the readers who enjoy my work and am hugely thankful for those readers who do reviews. Please, if you like an author review their work!

Leave a Reply

