Author Interview: Kris Johnston

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

My earliest memory of wanting to be a writer is when I was 8 years old, sitting in the den with my family doing homework. I had a short story assignment for my 2nd grade class and I fell in love with it right then and there. If memory serves, my short story was about a bunch of little forest animals and some kind of great adventure, and I distinctly remember naming one of them, “Mrs. Peabody.” Lol

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Oh I have so many, on both traditionally published and indie lists! But for the sake of time, here’s the short list-

Dean Koontz

Stephen King

Anne Rice

LB Simmons

Brianna West

Beth Flynn

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Life experiences and music tend to inspire me the most. I once wrote a book which was loosely based on true events, from something a friend of mine went through. And I have been driving around town with the music loud and out of nowhere, been hit with a pop of inspiration from whatever lyrics have been playing.

What genre(s) do you write?

I like to do a little “genre fusion,” with my books. To date, I have written a Gothic fairy tale; a contemporary romance/fantasy; and my current work is a series that is YA/paranormal/romance. My YA series has been so amazing to write, I wouldn’t be surprised if I end up writing more.

Do you have any current or future projects?

Right now I’m finishing my YA series and have begun working on a Dystopian Romance novella.

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Amazon

If you could just feature one title, what would it be?

Rest in Peace Roz, The R.I.P. Series Book 1 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I have 6 children, with ages ranging from 24 to 6. I waited years and years, until my youngest began going to school, before deciding to publish my work (and I wanted to write since the age of 8!). So, if there’s one thing I can leave you with, it’s this: Don’t be discouraged if things in your life don’t go as planned. Things happen, life happens, but in the end, it’s never too late to follow your dreams!

Leave a Reply

