Author Interview: Pat Ritter

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

Fourteen years old. Mr Imoff, my English Teacher told me I had a gift for writing in that ‘I wrote the way I spoke which was unique.’ After he told me this information I thought I needed have to learn English. How wrong was this decision? Twenty years later another Teacher, Bob O’Sullivan told me a similar thing. This is when I wrote my first book.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Bryce Courtenay. His way of writing and storytelling encouraged me to improve my writing.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Pomona Writers Group which I am a member. My children and grandchildren who encourage me to write. Sharing my stories with my readers.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Historical Fiction.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Yes. Presently writing book number 21. This book is a follow-on in the Outback Australian Series. First in the series ‘The Shearer’:. A story of ‘The Great Shearers Strike in 1891’ in outback Australia. Second book: ‘Go to the Shears’:. A story of drought in outback Australia. Serving of Shearers involved in the strike imprisoned on St Helena Island. Third in the series ‘Tilbaroo Station’: a continued story showing the discovery of ‘Great Artisan Water Basin’ to save the west from greatest drought. Now in the fourth of the series ‘The Year That Never Was’ about Australians fighting in ‘The Boer War’ plus Federation of Australia.

 

Do you have an author website?

Yes. Pat Ritter

 

Do you have any blogs?

No.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Direct from my website: Pat Ritter

Websites,

Smashwords

Amazon

Facebook

E-Mail address: patritter@outlook.com

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

Australian Outback Stories. I wrote and published ‘The Drover’:  which is my best seller. Wonderful reviews.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No! Only ‘Pat Ritter’.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Travel. Reading. Research.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I’m 68 years old, live on a property with my children and grandchildren. Lost my wife to cancer thirteen years ago: wrote a tribute: In Remembrace of Bub on her life. Happy writing and publishing my writing to share with all readers.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Thank you for giving me this opportunity to share with you and your readers. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

