Author Interview: Christopher Ledford

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I always liked creative writing, even as a child, but it was not until I was 39 when a friend convinced me to publish my work.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Aside from Stephen King and Marion Zimmer Bradley, it is specific stories such as Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, the epic poem Beowulf, and other classics that inspired my own creativity.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

The voices in my head; I wish I had a response with deeper meaning for you, but at least it is an honest one. I have weird dreams.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Epic Fantasy, Horror, and Weird West.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Several. Callie’s Tale, an anthropomorphic fantasy tale about a gladiator rescuing her sister from the slave pits. Age of Darkness, a sword and sorcery fantasy tale about two rival cities in a realm torn by magic. At least six others in the pipeline.

 

Do you have an author website?

Sadly, no. I currently use Facebook as a way for people to stay in touch with me.

 

Do you have any blogs?

No. I wish I had the time.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Amazon. The Look Inside feature is enabled on all my books, so you can read the first bits.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

Edge of the Frontier, a tale of the weird west. It was a two-year labor of love. It was my fourth book, so I learned a lot before writing it. It has an excellent editorial review from Kirkus Reviews. They mentioned Stephen King’s name. Words just cannot describe how I felt reading that, because they could have just mentioned the genre itself without mentioning a specific author. I think this story needs an audience.

“… the imagination on display is admirable, and the mixture of genres should appeal to fans of Stephen King’s Dark Tower saga.” – Kirkus Reviews

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I got into doing digital 3D art, mainly to design my own book covers. However, I play around with it whenever writer’s block strikes.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I am an introvert, but if you get me talking about a subject I like, I am almost impossible to shut up. You have been warned.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Right now, I am an indie author. My dream is to some day make a living writing so I can quit my “day job,” but it goes beyond that. If possible, I would open my own studio and give back by helping others achieve their writing success.

Leave a Reply

