Author Inteview: Jessica Cage

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I was very young, as soon as I learned to read I was fascinated. My first book was a part of the Young Authors program at my school. My grandmother encouraged me with her own love of the written word. She was the reason I realized that I could not only enjoy the new worlds presented to me in the pages of books, but that I could also create them! I will forever be indebted to her because of this.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Authors like, LA Banks, Octavia Butler, Rachel Caine, and Stephanie Meyer are included in my list of favorites. I loved the way they dared to step outside of the norm. They pushed boundaries, love them or hate them for it, every book felt like something brand new.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Nature, even though I am anything but a nature girl. I draw inspiration from the movement of the trees. Each sway of the branches tell a different story. I used to hang beneath the willow tree at that back of my aunt’s home and get lost in the movement, and my imagination would run wild. Also clouds, summers were spent laying atop my grandfather’s station wagon and creating short stories based on the shapes of the clouds.  My imagination has always been vivid and I am lucky to say that to this day, that hasn’t changed.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Currently I write, PNR, and Urban Fantasy, both YA and Adult. Looking to expand soon into other realms. Only time will tell.

Do you have any current or future projects?

Currently working on finishing up the 3rd book to my Alphas series, as well as a few submissions for anthologies which will release later in the year.

 

Do you have an author website?

Jessica Cage

 

Do you have any blogs?

The Journey of Jessica Cage

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Amazon

Wattpad

Or just visit my Website!: Jessica Cage

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

Siren’s Call

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

Nope, its just me!

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Yes, I love to draw and paint, when I can. Also I enjoy playing pool and bowling (though I am mediocre at best in both areas).

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I love brownies but hate chocolate cake.  Scented candles and Salt scrubs are life!  I write best when riding on the train. The inspiration for my greatest work started as a dream about a mermaid.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I would like to thank the readers who turn the pages of my books. When I first started writing I couldn’t fathom having anyone enjoying my work, the words were just for me. Now, I can’t wait until the readers have my work in their hands! Thank you so much for continuing to support and enjoy the written word!

Leave a Reply

