Author Interview: Bella James

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?
My passion for writing began with a love of reading. As soon as I learned to write I began to create stories.

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)
My favourite author is Phillipa Greggory, the way she brings characters of old back to life is simply magical. I also love the writing team, Nikki French for page turning thrillers.
What are your greatest sources of inspiration?
I like to take a personal experience and transform or embellish it. There is definitely a lot of ‘me’ in my writing.

What genre(s) do you write?
My first two novels are Young Adult, the one I am working on now is a Thriller.

Do you have any current or future projects?
Yes, my Thriller is finally coming to life. I have had this novel in mind for many years, so very excited to finally write the words and tell my conspiratory story.
Do you have an author website?
I have an author’s page on Facebook
Do you have any blogs?
Not at the moment, I am focusing all of my efforts on my novels.
Where can people find your work? (to purchase or just to read)
My debut novel The Girl Who Cried Wolf, is published by Accent Press and is available online and in paperback from Amazon.

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?
The Girl Who Cried Wolf, my first published book follows protagonist Anna Winters, as she makes the tumultuous transition from teenager to young woman. The story explores the concept of life after death, and how we might change our path if we had a glimpse of why our lives were so broken to begin with.

Do you have any pseudonyms?
I write under pseudonym Bella James
Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?
I like to escape the ‘real world’ most happy amongst nature, in the middle of nowhere. I also love to read. My perfect day would probably involve a long walk somewhere beautiful, then a glass of wine, a great book and a blazing fire.
Tell us something interesting about yourself.
I plan to run workshops for aspiring writers and novelists, I know people who have given up submitting their manuscripts after one or two rejections. I had many, and I feel writing is so subjective, you should never give up on your dreams. Believe in yourself, the story you want to share, and work hard to make it become realised. There is nothing like feeling your published book in your hands for the first time.
Is there anything else you would like to share?
My sequel to The Girl Who Cried Wolf will be available later this year. It is an important story to be told, I feel. The Hunger Moon addresses dependency and disordered eating amongst young people, and one girl’s portentous journey to reclaim her beauty and power.

bella-1

2

three

Leave a Reply

