Author Interview: Susan Keene

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I have been writing since I was about twelve. As I look back on it, I wrote mostly poetry and some of it was very dark. When I was sixteen, The American Society of Poets, made me a Fellow.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. I studied his technique when I decided to write in first person. For pure enjoyment, I read E.J. Copperman, Charlaine Harris, J.D. Robb and Dan Brown to name a few. I loved the Harry Potters series by J.K. Rowling.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

I can honestly say I am inspired because the ideas I have come out of nowhere. When I wrote Tattered Wings it was because my neighbor was a child abuser. I don’t know how her boy turned out, but I made mine a killer. The Twisted Mind of Cletus Compton and the Kate Nash Mystery series ideas came from recurring dreams.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

My genre of choice is cozy mystery, but once in awhile I stray to crime/mystery.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

My current WIP is Who’s Roxy Watkins, the 2nd book in the Kate Nash series.

 

Do you have an author website?

My author website is Susan Keene

 

Do you have any blogs?

Susan’s Musings is my blog but you can reach it through my website.

 

Where can people find your work? (to purchase or just to read)

All of my books can be found on Amazon.  Finding Lizzy Smith, the first Kate Nash book is also available at Kobo, Barnes & Noble, and at Black Opal Books.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

If I had to spotlight one novel as the one I like best, it would be Finding Lizzy Smith.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

I write under my own name.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

For a writer, I have some strange hobbies. In my spare time I love to treasure hunt with my metal detector and rare earth magnets. I do a lot of art projects and make small pieces of furniture and boxes in my wood shop.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I live on a hundred acre farm in the Ozarks. We have an orchard with about two hundred fruit trees which I take care of.  I love it. I find the quiet, blue skies, and manual labor to be cathartic.

Leave a Reply

