Author Interview: Elizabeth Roderick

Author Questionnaire

Elizabeth Roderick

elizabethroderick@att.net

Tales from Purgatory

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I first remember wanting to be a writer when I was eight. I was really into Lord of the Rings (the books…long before the movies) and was writing a bunch of stories about fairies and unicorns. I also wanted to be a veterinarian, but that latter dream slipped away.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

It depends on my mood. Generally, I’d say John Kennedy Toole, Terry Pratchett, Carl Hiaasen, Hunter S. Thompson, Douglas Adams. I like to be entertained J

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Life experience: finding the humor in the horrible scrapes I get myself into, or am forced into.

Also my partner, Phoenix, who is himself a living work of art. He has schizophrenia, which is the reason a lot of my characters are neurodiverse (I’m neurodiverse, too, but I’d never have the courage to write about it if it weren’t for him).

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I’ve written just about everything, though I’ve only got a romantic suspense and a series of contemporary suspense/magical realism published at this point. I’ve also written humorous mystery, YA urban fantasy, YA contemporary romance/magical realism, YA sci-fi/alt-earth fantasy, paranormal/horror, contemporary romance, literary fiction, and memoir.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I’m working on a paranormal/horror short story for an anthology put out through Limitless Publishing called 13: Déjà vu, which comes out this June. I should have that story done within a few more days; then I plan on starting another YA urban fantasy, and working more on my literary novel.

 

Do you have an author website?

Yes! Tales from Purgatory

 

Do you have any blogs?

I keep one at Tales from Purgatory and Elizabeth Roderick.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

On Amazon, in bookstores (you can order my books if they aren’t in stock); I also have short stories and memoir on Wattpad, and have a giveaway of a rock star romance short on InstaFreebie happening from 2/3-2/10 (that should be available in other venues later, as well).

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

My favorite book out so far—and I think the favorite one I’ve written so far—is The Other Place. It’s told first-person from the point of view of a young schizophrenic man who is trying to make it as an artist. Since I am psychotic (this means something different than most people think), and my partner has schizophrenia, I have a different idea than most people what it’s like to live with that sort of mind. The book isn’t dark at all. Pretty much the opposite. I love my main character and the story, and it seems to be something that’s pretty distinct in the market.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No. But I’m shopping out some of my YA now, and that will likely be put out under a different name…probably Liz Roderick, so not terribly different.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I renovated and built onto an 80-year-old cabin, so now I’m a “tiny house” person. I grow, raise, and preserve most of my own food, and make my own wine. I’m also a working musician (bass mostly, but also keyboards, guitar and vocals), and an avid backpacker when I have the time. I don’t know if any of those really qualify as hobbies, except maybe the backpacking, but writing isn’t really a hobby for me, either, as such.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I pretty much spilled the beans about myself above J I guess another interesting thing is I was studying to become a research chemist when I discovered writing. Also, I’ve written sixteen novels (and a million short stories) in a little more than three years.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I’m a neurodiverse activist; I speak on that subject at forums and conferences, and get involved in lobbying and other political action. I’m currently planning to “Go Homeless for the Homeless” event, where I (and potentially my partner and maybe others) backpack the 180 miles from my home to my state capital, living in homeless camps, shelters, and in the wilds the whole way. I’ve been homeless before, and I think it will be a good way to bring awareness to the subject and bring in donations for worthy causes. This might not be out of the planning stage until 2018, but I’m trying to drum up support and interest for the project now.

 

Thank you for this opportunity! J

Leave a Reply

