Illustrator Interview: Zsa-Zsa Van Zyl

*I am very priviledged to feature talented illustrator, Zsa-Zsa van Zyl on my blog.  She is the talented artist responsible for creating the illustrations for my first children’s book, Bunny’s Song!

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be an illustrator?

Since I was able to pick up a pencil, but if I had to think back it would probably be around 6 years old. My brother drew me a picture and I always wanted to copy him, and from then on, I just could not stop.

 

Who are your favorite illustrators? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

There are allot of illustrators I admire, but if I had to choose just a limited amount of creators, they would be:

Boris Vallejo and Julie Bell

Jim Kay

And I love the drawings Tim Burton did in his earlier years.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

I Love Nature, I get allot of inspiration out of it, I also love the Ghibli Studio Movies, they are art in motion.
Any adventure I experience just gets my mind in motion, even simple road trips.

 

What genre(s) books do you like to illustrate?

I Draw many things, however I Love to draw animals the most, the cuter they look the better.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I am busy with my 1st Adult Coloring book, called “Beach Girls” It’s a collaborative project between myself and my husband, we are planning to launch it late March this year. It’s a fantasy where girls connect with the sealife that surround them, the book is sentual in every sort of way.

 

Do you have a website?

I have a Facebook art page where I post most of my work

ZZZ ARTS Bloemfontein

 

Do you have any blogs?

I don’t have any blogs of my own.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to see)

My work can be seen on ZZZ ARTS Bloemfontein

The books I did illustrations for can be found at Pen It! Publications

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

My fist published illustrations is in Bunny’ Song, an adorable children’s book by Jen Selinsky

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No, I don’t I just use my own name for everything I do.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides illustrating?

Yes I do, I recently found out about felt crafts, and enjoying it allot. I made a felt teddy just last week. I also love painting, I think myself a very creative person, and I love creating things.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I am always looking for new things, as I am working on current projects my head just races to what the next thing is I can do and challenge myself with.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Please support me on ZZZ ARTS Bloemfontein and keep an eye out for our Adult Coloring book Beach Girls that will come out in March.

 

water-girl

Leave a Reply

