Author Interview: Richard Stephens & Salty Tails

How old were you when you wanted to be a writer?

Richard: I fell in love with writing later in life. I was 48 when a friend talked me into sitting in on a writing class. I have always been a reader, and wrote for business, but had never ever considered writing anything for myself. After 2 classes I was hooked.

Salty Tails: I was born to write.

 

Who are your favorite authors?

Richard: I have so many favorites. Here is my short list: Janet Evanovich, Robert B. Parker, Jimmy Buffett, Daschiell Hammett, Nora Roberts, Rita Mae Brown, Lillian Jackson Braun…

Salty: ME!

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Richard: People. People never cease to amaze and amuse me. And then there are my three black cats. The true inspiration for Salty Tails and his cozy mysteries.

Salty: Humans. It’s simply amazing the trouble they can get into. And don’t get me started on their mating rituals.

 

What Genre(s) do you write?

Richard: Primarily romantic cozy mysteries, told through the voice of a sarcastic cat. Think a Rita Mae Brown with attitude on a sailboat. I have also published two short stories that are kind of a humorous Noir homage to the old detective writers like Robert B. Parker and Daschiell Hammett. Also told by a cat. A beer drinking cat named Rusty Nails.

Salty: Are cat’s a genre? And I am not sarcastic, I’m witty.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Richard: Always. I am working on the fourth Salty Tails Mystery, currently titled, “Lobster Tales.” I am also thinking of writing a novel based on my Rusty Nails (Cat Detective) shorts. And as if that wasn’t enough, I’m slowly working my way through a young adult book that centers around the western show horse world.

Salty: No! I’m working on Lobster Tails. He’s always taking credit for my work.

 

Do you have an author site?

Richard: I do! And thanks for asking.

Catnip & Dog Biscuits

You will find my blog, “Catnip & Dog Biscuits”, on there as well.

Salty: What he said, although I still think it should be named after me.

 

Where can people find your work?

Richard: All our books are available through Amazon.

Salty: Sell out.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

Richard: Another tough one. Let’s face it, writing, editing, & finally publishing a book is kinda like giving birth, (or so I’m told) so picking one child over the others is difficult. That being said, I hold a special place in my heart for Pirate Tales, since it was my first novel. But I believe that Vanished Tales is probably my favorite. I loved the way the relationships evolved, especially when I introduced the two girls.

Salty: Pirate Tails, it has the biggest picture of me on the cover.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

Richard: I guess you could call Salty Tails a pseudonym. Although he treats me more like a slave most of the time. I also write with Rusty Nails.

Salty: I sometimes use Richards name, especially when he leaves his credit card laying around.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Richard: I do, I love to sail, and taught it for several years, which anybody who reads Salty’s books will learn. I also enjoy cooking, hiking, playing guitar, and brewing beer at home. Of course drinking is fun to.

Salty: Sleeping, eating, sleeping, playing, sleeping, eating, sniffing catnip, eating, sleeping…

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself?

Richard: I spent a few years doing radio and voiceover work and have a small studio in my home. It’s something I really enjoyed. I’m currently using these skills to convert my books to audio, and ad voice to my book trailers.

Salty: Wow! Where do I even begin?

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Richard: We’re always looking connect with readers and authors a like. So please feel free to contact me or Salty. When not working on my own projects, I stay busy as a freelance blog writer and helping other Indie authors publish.

Salty: I’m hungry, I thought you said there would be snack.

 

Dark Harbor Publishing

Facebook: Richard Stephens

Facebook: Salty Tails

Facebook: Dark Harbor Publishing

Richard Stephens: Twitter

Instagram: salty.tails

Leave a Reply

