Author Interview: Layla Cuevas

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I first knew that I wanted to be a writer when I was seven or eight years old in 2nd grade.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

My favorite authors are as follows:

  1. Ernest Hemingway
  2. Sandra Brown
  3. Judy Bloom
  4. Nicholas Sparks

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

My greatest sources of inspiration are my children, my grandchildren, and life in general. Seeing all types of people from different walks of life can give me inspiration.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I write romance/love, drama, and mystery. I also write children’s stories.

 

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I have a current project that I am working on and a few future projects gathering in my mind.

 

Do you have an author website?

I do not have a website at this time, this is a future goal.

 

Do you have any blogs?

I do not have any blogs.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

I do not have any of my personal work available at this time for purchase or to read.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

“Do I Have to Say the Words?”

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

My real name is Lesley Crisp. My pseudonym is Layla Cuevas.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

My hobbies include photography and sewing. Oh, and baking!

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

Something interesting about myself…. Well, I’m not sure. I have lived an interesting life! I love to read, I love to write! I wrote a story for President Ronald Regan and received a letter back from him with an autographed photo thanking me for the story when I was in elementary school. I won several awards for my stories and was recognized by the school district when I wrote the eulogy for my middle school counselor when he suddenly passed away. As an adult, however, I have written several different stories but have not taken that leap to publish anything yet.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I am really looking forward to this opportunity! Although I do not have a blog and this is a new step for me, I am excited to learn more! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

