Author Interview: Matthew Snee

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

Early, like ten or eleven. 

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Melville, Borges, Flaubert, Steinbeck.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Mostly every day moments with my family and friends. Art and poetry and novels inspire me, but it’s real experiences that people have that really strike me. I like telling people’s stories.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I fluctuate between pulp to literary, to somewhere in between. I also write a great deal of poetry.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I’m working on a large, 200 page poetry book, as well as my next novel, “The Kalachthon,” about Sherlock Holmes.

 

Do you have an author website?

Matthew Snee

 

Do you have any blogs?

Snee’s Blog

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Mostly on Amazon. I used to distribute my work for free, but I’ve kind of outgrown that, and also need to pay bills. 

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

It would be my new book, “The Year I Slept”. It’s what I’m most confident in.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No, not really, though some of my books are under Matt Snee, and others under Matthew Snee.  I changed to Matt a short time ago.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I write and produce music for fun.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I used to tour the country in a rock band.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

My new book, “The Year I Slept” comes out on February 20th, and can be found here.

16684705_10155771664209097_1836790713_n

16684632_10155771661149097_207702458_n

Leave a Reply

