Author Interview: Jerri Keele

*I am very pleased to introduce, Jerri Keele.  Jerri is an avid Monkees fan and is working on the third book in her Davy Jones trilogy; all proceeds go to the Davy Jones Equine Memorial Fund.  Be on the loookout for Jerri’s first regular novel soon!

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

In grade school I began writing stories about my friends and our “idols of the day,” (because they changed frequently). The stories were in spiral bound notebooks and would be passed around to my friends during recess and after school before being returned to me to continue the story that night and repeat the process every day. This continued through middle school (called junior high school back then) and high school. However, I burned them all (it was close to a bonfire!) after I graduated high school. Oh, how I wish I’d kept a few.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

I am a HUGE fan of James Michener, but also Richard Adams’ book Watership Down.  For pure pleasure, I read Janet Evanovich, Mary Stewart, John D. MacDonald, and a wide variety of others.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Music is a great inspiration to me. Right now I’m working on the final book in a trilogy about the ghost of Davy Jones (of The Monkees), so I listen mostly to his music while I write. All of the royalties go to the charity that Davy’s daughters created to care for his rescued horses. Once the trilogy is complete, I would like to write about far different things, which would mean using other music. But also, nature inspires me. I live in Oregon, and the scenery is simply breathtaking at times.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

The trilogy is a cozy mystery/fantasy, but I’d also like to write general fiction and I have an historical fiction story that I began years ago. I hope to finish it in the coming years.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

“Starrling’s Flight” is an historical fiction piece, bordering on fantasy. It’s about a young Pagan girl in the 1600s fleeing from witch hunters. I also have a young adult story about a cat that is owned by a pirate in the 1600s. And lastly, I would love to rework my grandfather’s stories about a group of fairies with the most beautiful names, characters, and adventures.

 

Do you have an author website?

I do, but it is pretty bare-bones at this time.

Jerri Keele Author

 

Do you have any blogs?

Again, I do, but I don’t seem able to find the time to update it very much.  Jerri Keele, Author

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Amazon – all of mine (so far) are only in paperback form, because it brings the best royalty to the charity, Davy Jones Equine Memorial Foundation

 

If you could just feature one title, what would it be? 

Probably the current one I’m working on, which I have, until now, been keeping secret, “A Monkee In My Life.” But that’s for the future, so I’ll have to say the very first in the trilogy, “A Monkee On My Shoulder.”

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No. I’m just plain me, just Jerri. J

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I love animals, especially cats, dogs, and horses. I have a friend less than a mile away who has a hobby farm that includes five wonderful horses. I have been given the freedom to come and go as I please, which gives me free horse therapy. I love just sharing a breath with them, or giving them a brushing and a carrot or apple.  At home we have three cats and two dogs, all of whom are spoiled rotten and provide free therapy on a daily basis.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I’m 59 years old, living in Salem, Oregon. I grew up in the Los Angeles area and was finally able to escape the big city down there and move to where it’s green, quiet, and full of wildlife and peace. I have a wonderful and supportive husband, a grown son and daughter-in-law, and our critters, of course.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Although I’m currently writing for a very small niche of readers (mostly The Monkees/Davy Jones fans), I hope to expand the audience with my other stories in the future.

 

*Please visit my Facebook author page: A Monkee On My Shoulder/A Monkee By My Side

Leave a Reply

