Author Interview: Mary Ellen Quire

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I was in grade school when I discovered I enjoyed writing, but it wasn’t until I took a creative writing class in high school that I really held an interest.  I didn’t write anything seriously until some years later.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Stephen King

Jim Butcher

Ann Bishop

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

I think the biggest inspiration I get for writing anything is the time old question “What if?”  It’s been the bare bones of a lot of my material.  “What if you could make time travel real?”  “What if animals really do have a secret society that humans know nothing about?”  “What if entities like vampires, fairies, and witches really did exist?”  I usually follow the question with another, “Is there a way to turn that answer into something unique?”  It’s all downhill from there.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Urban fantasy is actually my favorite genre to write.  Dark Deliverance was my take on the whole vampire legend.  I love the genre so much that I couldn’t help but throw a little of it into the Sheldon’s Diary series in the form of the mythical Wild Hunt.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

The second book in the Sheldon’s Diary series, Cheddar’s Diary, is due out at the end of this year.  I am working on the third book now.  I have a detective series and will be finishing the second book soon hopefully.  I’m also writing a light-hearted assassin novel and a dark urban fantasy novel which takes place locally.

 

Do you have an author website?

My website is Mary Ellen Quire

 

Do you have any blogs?

Sheldon’s Diary and Cheddar Diaries are blogs that I write on Facebook.  Sheldon’s Diary is its own page while Cheddar’s Diary is hosted by Crestwood Animal Hospital.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

You can find all three of my current books (Sheldon’s Diary, Dark Deliverance, and Fairview) in just about any online bookstore.  Fairview is only available in electronic format though Smashwords, Kobo, and Amazon.  Sheldon’s Diary and Dark Deliverance are featured in both soft cover and Kindle ebook.   At the present time, you can also purchase Sheldon’s Diary at Karen’s Book Barn in La Grange, Kentucky or at the Bookstore in the Berry Center in New Castle, Kentucky.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

Sheldon’s Diary.  It’s so quirky that I just love writing it.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

I’ve written two time travel novels, Link Detonator and Detonator Time’s Up, under the name Mary E. Rose.  They’re out of print now, but you can still find copies of them floating around here and there.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Of course reading is one of my favorite pastimes, but I also enjoy kicking back with my husband or daughter and watching anything of interest on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

