Author Interview: Walt Szczotka

*Walt is a good friend of mine.  We met during the fall of 2003 when we both started graduate school together.  As long as I have known him, Walt has always had an acttive imagination, which he uses to write such excellent stories!

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?
I decided I wanted to be a writer around when I was nine years old.  I would often make up little “comic” style artwork stories on my way back to Pennsylvania from Disney World (in Orlando, Florida).  Of course, I didn’t really start taking writing seriously until I was thirteen.  When I was a Freshman in High School, I wrote my first ever “Long Work”, a gangster style story which I am planning to make into a novel (It’s written in Screenplay format, as I’d originally wanted to be a screen writer).

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

R.L. Stine, Ridley Pearson, Edward Darkslade, J.K. Rowling

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

My Grandfather, to this day, remains my greatest source of inspiration.  He taught me that you’re never too old to use your imagination, and he also reminded me that imagination is one of my strongest assets.  To this day, I always try to write in a character that has his kindness and his imagination.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Fantasy and Magic.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I have two big projects I’m currently working on:  One is a completely new story called “Captain Rum Belly and the Society of Shadows.”  The other project is to revive my old “Unconditional” stories and write them in the new time line that I’m working on:  Mostly dealing with Captain Rum Belly and Raighne the Water Sorcerer.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

I publish exclusively through Lulu.com.  However, I have pulled all of my old books as I’m reworking them and retooling them.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

Captain Rum Belly and the Society of Shadows.  I have a lot of fun with Old Rum Belly, and more importantly, the inspiration behind the story is almost as interesting as what I’m writing.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No, I like to eat my food plain.  HAHA.  Of course I know what pseudonyms mean.  No, I don’t believe in using them.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I love playing video games.  Right now, I’m highly addicted to playing the Project Diva Games (Hatsune Miku genre).   I also collect Batman Comics and old Mad Magazines, as I love to read.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I’m an animal lover and a parent to a bright, silly, curious little dachshund named Nora.  I’m a video game lover as well; in fact, aside from Hatsune Miku, I also like playing World of Final Fantasy and Kingdom Hearts.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Never stifle your imagination, you’ll be doing yourself a great disservice.

Leave a Reply

