Author Interview: S.A. Larsen

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

That’s a tough question. During my teen years I knew I loved writing. I just didn’t have a clue how to go about doing it, let alone doing it successfully. Remember, I was in high school pre internet with all those nifty search engines. There were no writing gadgets and novel programs to speak of, let alone cell phones or tablets. Heck, I had a Tandy computer in college. #haha (Okay younger peeps, go Google that. We’ll wait.) It was in my thirties that I knew I wanted to write professionally and that I could find the tools to help me make it happen.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Jane Austen, Dr. Seuss, Melissa Marr, Judy Bloom, Anne Rice, Meg Cabot, Jamie McGuire, Stephen King

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

I’d say music and any current reading I’ve done, but it also depends on which age group I’m writing for. For instance, when I’m working on a middle grade project I sometimes go through old photos and school work of my kids. Having four kids I’ve got plenty of MG memories to pull from. I reflect on my own young adult years for my YA work. Candles and candy are two more inspirations I cherish.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Firstly, I write for children. My middle grade work pretty much encompasses fantasy and adventure, while my young adult work hones more on urban fantasy, paranormal, and romance. But I’m also open to writing more contemporary stories.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Currently, I’m working on book two of my middle grade series MOTLEY EDUCATION intended to be five books total. I’m also finishing up final edits with my editor in anticipation of the release of my first young adult novel MARKED BEAUTY late summer 2017. And guess what? I got a glimpse of the cover recently. Eek! It’s all dark, gothic, and mysteriously romantic. A project that is near and dear to my heart is another I’m working on. It’s YA and deals with a teen’s struggle to survive growing up with a mentally ill parent and how that affects her family unit, and her dreams, growth, fears, and relationships with others.

 

Do you have an author website?

Sure do – S.A. Larsen

 

Do you have any blogs?

I started Writer’s Alley to be a platform for children’s literature and its authors. It can be found Writer’s Alley.

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Motley Education can be found or ordered through your local bookstore, on Amazon, B&N, Walmart, Indiebound, and other online merchants as well. Marked Beauty will be similar, so here’s my Amazon Author Page for once it’s released; also, here you’ll find the young adult anthologies my stories are part of and some short stories I have in inspirational books for writers. On my website, I also have a list of freelance articles I’ve done, some have links.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

Honestly, I’d love to feature my YA novel Marked Beauty, but it won’t release for at least five months. So it would be Motley Education. J

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

I write under my initials: S.A. Larsen.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I’m a forever dancer. It actually was going to be my career, New York and the whole bit. But life happened. Anyway, up until five years ago I was still dancing with a group of ladies ranging in ages from 23 – 68. Yup, and we were called the Monday Night Hotties. 😉

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I’m a mural painter. Can’t draw a small image for the life of me, but give a whole wall and watch out! Oh, and I’m a rim girl – truck rims, that is. They matter, just like diamonds on a woman.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Only that I am so grateful for this opportunity to be here. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

