Author Interview: Lisa Binion

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

From the time I learned how to read, I have loved books. Part of me has always longed to write, and over time, the desire grew stronger and stronger.

When I was accepted as a writer for BellaOnline many years ago, it was like a dream come true. I have since left BellaOnline and now have my own website.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

My favorite author would have to be Agatha Christie. I have every mystery she has ever written and have read them each many times over. She is the one who set my standards for a great mystery.

I have read so many books by now that it is hard to choose other favorites. Among my other favorites, I would include Stephen Helmes, Matthew Keith, LB Marie, Atty Eve, and Joshua Hampton.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Memories of what has happened throughout my life are my greatest source of inspiration. Other than that, articles that I read in different papers will cause my imagination to create stories. For example, “23 People Describe the Strangest Things Previous Owners Left in Their Homes.”

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I have one published book and another one that is about ready to publish. Both of them are horror.

I have also written one children’s book, but I have yet to publish it. It is more of an adventure story. It is about an imagined adventure that some of the puppies I used to have took.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

My current project is to make Softly and Tenderly available in paperback. While working on that, I’m also getting ready to publish Dance for Me. And there are several other stories I’m working on.

 

Do you have an author website?

Lisa’s Writopia is my website. I write articles that in some way have to do with reading or writing for it. The site also has book reviews, author interviews, and guest posts that other authors have written. On my site, I also advertise my writing and my editing. You can read the first part of Softly and Tenderly for free on my website.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

     Softly and Tenderly is available through Amazon or Smashwords. You can also read the first part of Softly and Tenderly for free on my website.

The articles I write and the reviews of books I do can be read on Lisa’s Writopia. When I publish my next book, it will also be announced on my website.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

Softly and Tenderly

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I don’t consider writing to be a hobby. Writing and editing are simply what I do.

Walking would be exercise, but it is also a hobby. I also like to take long walks with my dogs. To relax, I read a selection from my library of books that is consistently being made larger.

Streaming episodes of some really great shows is also a hobby. Criminal Minds, Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders, Bones, and Blindspot are some of my favorite series to watch.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

In January of 1991, I was in a near fatal car accident. The jaws of life had to be used to extract me from my car. I wasn’t expected to survive. If I did survive, the doctors told my husband that I would be paralyzed with brain damage for the rest of my life.

Doctors are not always right, and I proved them wrong. Six weeks and two days later, I walked out of the hospital, no longer paralyzed or brain-damaged.

Leave a Reply

