Author/Editor Interview: Lori Garside

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

 

I started writing short stories in second grade – around seven-years-old and poetry in my teens. A collection of poems was published in 1976, so I CAN say I’m a published author, but even I no longer have a copy. It was lost long ago along with some rare first editions in one of my many moves. I have tried and failed several times to write the novel I know is inside me. I just need to confidence to see it through to the bitter end.

 

For now, my work is behind the scenes as an editor. I got my first taste of a red pencil when I was just fourteen-years-old. My grandfather, E.B. Garside, a best selling author and renowned academic translator (he translated texts from Greek to English), was the managing editor of a newspaper and put me to work one summer.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

 

Christine Feehan, Belinda Boring, Cherise Sinclair, William Shakespeare, John Milton, Geoffrey Chaucer, Binaca Sommerland, Seth King, Lindy Zart, and many many more.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

 

Life and all its foibles. Some comes from my own experience, some from things I’ve observed, and a great deal from a rich internal fantasy world I learned I could control when I was very young.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

 

The book I’m writing is contemporary women’s fiction about an older woman – a spinster – who falls in love with a younger man . . . a widower with three children under the age of fifteen. I’m also playing with a couple of paranormal novels. One is a romance and the other may wind up a horror or thriller . . . I’m not sure where they’ll take me or how long it will take me to get there. I do, however, edit everything: blog posts, articles, novels – any genre, and children’s books.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

 

The book I’m currently working is Learning To Fall. It’s a May/December romance and I have no release day in sight. I’m also jotting down ideas for a shifter romance but am not sure it will gel. I’m a paranormal junkie! Currently, I’m editing a memoir – The Gift. It’s a fictionalized account of a woman juggling a taking care of her bipolar daughter and terminally ill grandchild. It’s a heartbreaking story you will all be able to read this summer.

 

Do you have an author website? Not yet, but I do have a site as an editor.  It’s Lori Garside, Editor

 

Do you have any blogs?

 

Actually, yes! I own The Chronic Romantic The Chronic Romantic and Garside’s Book Bets Garside’s Book Bets blogs.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Nothing of my own at the moment.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

 

Well, as I don’t have anything published, I’m going to recommend fans of Science Fiction read Evelyn Lederman’s ‘Selected’ It’s a SciFi coming of age story about teens being forced to travel to another galaxy to help repopulate a planet.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

 

No – but it’s something I’ve thought about. If and when I do publish I’d like to keep editing and am not sure I want to confuse the two.  It’s definitely something I’m considering.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

 

I love to travel, I sing, I read incessantly, and I enjoy going to museums.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

 

I started singing and performing when I was nine years old and won my first competition at ten. I’m a trained actress and singer and spent twenty years trying to become the next household name. My acting ability is used often. I’m quite shy but you’d never know it to meet me. LOL

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

 

I’m proud to be part of the indie community. Albeit behind the scenes. I’ll self-publish my book if I ever get it finished. I am sure I’ll find a few authors who’ll mentor me in the process. This community is chocked full of welcoming and supportive people and I’ve had the pleasure of working with many as an editor and blogger.

Leave a Reply

