Author Interview: Nora Gail Truax

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I am a storyteller more than a writer. In my earlier years I was more interested in drawing and design than writing.  It wasn’t until I became a grandmother, and after A LOT of encouragement from my husband that I put pen to paper and memorialized one of my stories.  Even then, I only planned to do the one story.  That was 3 stories ago.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Oldies but goodies: Louisa M. Alcott, William Shakespeare, Agatha Christie, C.S. Lewis, Charles Dickens, the Bronte sisters and Mark Twain.

New and Improved:  Max Lucado, Cheryl Wilson, Steve Harrison, Lee Child, Michael Williams, Bill Noel and Maeve Benchy.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Children.  I told stories to my nieces and nephews in younger years, then to my children, and now to my grandchildren.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Childrens books.  I like entertaining the younger crowd.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

There are between 50-60 Greymalkin stories that have not been committed to paper.  I need to get busy.

After experiencing a severe writers block, which means I wrote copiously and hated all of it, I finally broke through with a new book “Kit Kat” which will be released April 2017.

 

Do you have a facebook page, author website or blog?

Visit Greymalkin the Queen’s Cat for updates on what is going on in Greymalkin’s and Kit Kat’s world.

My author’s page can be found at Amazon.

As for a website or blog, I have neither.  Although I thoroughly enjoy other authors blogs and websites, I can’t think of a single interesting thing to write about myself.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Greymalkin and I have a facebook page.  When a new book is in the works, we post updates.  When there isn’t a new book in the works, we try to find bits and pieces to interest other folk.  Please feel free to leave a message.

Greymalkin the Queen’s Cat

 

Greymalkin books can be found at:

Amazon

Just type in the name of the book.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

Greymalkin and the Heroic Rescue seems to be the favorite so far.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

Not unless you want to count Mom and Nana.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I am the librarian at Judson Road Christian Church.  I belong to the League of Women Voters, Friends of the Library, and mentor a child at a local school.  My husband and I belong to a couple of card groups and I still dabble in art.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

My childhood home was in Rugby, Tennessee which is the last English settlement in the United States.  Rugby was founded by Thomas Hughes who wrote Tom Brown’s School Days.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I appreciate your interest in my books and hope you and your child like the books as much as my grandchildren do.  Please feel free to act the stories out with your little ones.  That’s the way the girls and I told them and, yes, some of the story may change to fit the child, but that makes the story “live” for the child…and for you.

 

Have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

