Author Interview: Eva Caye

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

About thirteen.  When the fourth or fifth teacher tells you your writing is fantastic, you start to feel pretty confident in yourself.  I took up teaching, instead, and only seriously pursued writing when I had a health crisis in my forties, primarily as therapy.  Then I began burning to see whether other people would like my work…!

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Lois McMaster Bujold, Anne McCaffrey, Robert A. Heinlein, Arthur C. Clarke, and (unfortunately) Orson Scott Card and Marion Zimmer Bradley.  The latter have become known for unsavory personal habits, like homophobia and child abuse.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

All the young ladies, from adolescent to my age, who’ve had a hard time figuring out what they want to do in life.  I try to give them character role models who find meaning in their work, or who recognize they can change careers at the drop of a hat, etcetera.  Basically, that any experience they have can be useful in their future.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Science fiction romance, sometimes stronger on the sci fi than the romance, and vice versa!  Because your future matters as much as who you’ll spend the rest of your life with.

Do you have any current or future projects?

How much time do you have?  I currently have *FIVE* works in progress, most related to my series but two of them rather unique.

 

Do you have an author website?

I used to, but until I make enough money to hire a personal assistant, I had to give it up.  Writing is what I do, not website design and management.

 

Do you have any blogs?

The Spiraling Mind, where I manage to put out a post about once a month.  It tends to be a long one, though, so I hope people find delight in it.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

The usual purveyors of ebooks: Amazon, Smashwords, iTunes, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Payhip and so forth.  For print books, try Amazon and CreateSpace.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

I am about to cry.  They’re all my favorites.  If I were to vote for one for sheer pecuniary reasons, I would pick Dignity because most people get hooked into buying the rest of the books.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I love yoga, permaculture, tatting and crocheting, just about anything crafty except painting, and designing book covers and promotional materials on my computer.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I’m a philosopher at heart and a knowledge hound, but I adore studying ‘spiritual’ books.  I have about 800 physical books and (guessing here) about 5,000 ebooks on my computer.  I estimate I’ve read 780 of the physical books and over 3,000 of the ebooks.  If you don’t hear from me, I’m probably lost in A Course in Miracles or the latest spiritual development course that merges science with spirituality.

Leave a Reply

