Author Interview: T. Lee Harris

*I first had the priviledge of meeting T. when I started attending meetings with The Southern Indiana Writers’ Group.  It wasn’t much longer until she, and the others, were kind enough to vote me in as a member!  T. is also ⅓ owner of Per Bastet Publications. Please read more about her below:

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

Probably around seven. My second grade teacher caught me writing and illustrating poems about animals. Instead of whacking me as per her usual wont (Early 60s. That’s how it went then), she stapled the pages into a rudimentary booklet and put it on the class reading table. My classmates actually READ it. They told me it was cool and that they LIKED it. I was doomed.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

It’s a hodgepodge. Mark Twain, John Steinbeck, Terry Pratchett, Len Deighton, John LeCarre and Ian Rankin for a few.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Depends on what I’m writing. I’ve been known to springboard off of ancient artifacts, news articles, an overheard comment and even a group of coins found on a sidewalk.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I write mostly mystery and thriller, but have been known to wander off into science fiction and fantasy when left unsupervised.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Always. At the moment, I have a novella underway featuring Byron Peale of the Miller & Peale series. This story — called San Francisco at Night — is a tale from Byron’s past. Considering Peale is a vampire who was born in the mid-18th century, he has a lot of past to draw from. The story is set in the 1880s. In it, Peale teams up with lawman and weirdness magnet, Floyd Kaetin to take on a Shanghaiing ring.

 

After Byron and Floyd are squared away, I’m jumping farther into the past — back to the time of Ramesses II. Lies in the Place of Truth is the sequel to last year’s release, The Eloquent Scribe and revisits the young scribe, Sitehuti, and his companion, former temple cat, Nefer-Djenou-Bastet. Huti finally gets to go home, but nothing is ever that simple since Neffi adopted him.

 

Next on my to-do list, I bounce back into the present to write the sequel to this year’s Josh Katzen novel. It’s untitled as yet, but I’m having a blast researching Cold War espionage and KGB sleeper agents.

 

Do you have an author website?

I have a website and a blog, but I’m terrible at keeping up with either.

 

Where can people find your work? (to purchase or just to read)

My work can be found several places, most notably on Amazon and on the Untreed Reads store.

Leave a Reply

