Author Interview: Harriet Goldberg

*I first met Harriet in 2015 when I attended the Second Annual Author Fair at the Jeffersonville Public Library in Jeffersonville, Indiana.  When I told her that I am a local author, she was kind enough to include me at the third and fourth author fairs.  We’ve also brainstormed for other program ideas.

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I began writing poetry in junior (now middle school) high school.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Some of my favorite authors are: Chris Bohjalian, Jodi Picoult, Sue Miller, Margaret Atwood, Debbie Macomber, Wally Lamb, Tess Gerritsen, Linda Castillo, Anne Tyler, and Syrie James.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Cats (especially mine) are my inspiration.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Poetry is what I like to create, but hope to try my hand at writing fiction one day.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Besides poetry, I like to knit, make jewelry (beaded necklaces), and reading, of course.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I have traveled (with my husband) to 5 of the 7 continents:  Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North America, of course.

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I have a BA in English and an MLS in Library Science from Indiana University and I’m a reference librarian in a local public library (my dream job).

 

Leave a Reply

