Author Interview: Laura Lance

*I made Laura’s acquaintance when I interviewed her for Pen It! Magazine. Laura is an American writer, who was born and raised in Paris. She moved to New York, at a young age, to work in fashion. After that, she worked in the entertainment industry, where she was able to nurture her creative side.  A few years ago, Laura relocated to Los Angeles to produce photo shoots, during which time she was inspired to start writing. She now lives near Topanga Canyon with her two sons and their five pets.

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I knew at a young age that I wanted to be a writer. My parents traveled a lot; they sent me to boarding school when I was seven. It was not that exciting so, to escape boredom, I wrote adventure-fantasy tales on colorful drawing pages which I stapled together. Then, I gave my self-made books to friends at school. Pretty soon, I was asked to read my stories out loud in the dormitory, before curfew. I had so much fun doing that.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Oscar Wilde

Mark Twain

J.R.R. Tolkien

Lewis Carroll

Gabriel Garcia Marquez

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

My grandmother was an amazing storyteller. She inspired me to write. I’m fascinated by Biblical stories and astronomy.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Any, but I love adventure/fantasy and sci-fi the most.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I just finished and epic saga story that details the life of the ruling class in a post-apocalyptic world (4 books). I am currently writing an adventure/fantasy trilogy about time-travel. For each of my stories, I write a manuscript and a feature screenplay.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

My work is available on Amazon and the Pen It! Publications website.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

Mantis

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I practice yoga and meditation; I also help at pet rescues.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

No matter where life takes you, never give up on your childhood dreams.

 

*Please feel free to follow and contact Laura at the following sites:

 

Facebook:

Laura Bialobos

Twitter:
@thisonelaura

Instagram:
theonlyqueenbia

Leave a Reply

