Author Interview: Blake Chambers

This issue’s featured author is Blake Chambers.  Blake is a lifelong resident of Washington, Indiana.  After practicing law for thirty-five years in his hometown, he retired and now works part-time as the afternoon news voice for local radio station, Memories 107.9 WAMW, and writes occasional columns for the Washington Times-Herald.  In addition, he is currently serving a second term as a member of the Washington City Council.

When not working at the radio station or penning newspaper columns he enjoys spending time with his life partner, Marilyn, and visiting his children and grandchildren.  His interests include fly-fishing, baseball, playing the piano, and food.

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I was in my early 20s when I first thought about becoming a writer, and my greatest source of inspiration was the novel Watership Down by Richard Adams.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

My favorite authors include Larry McMurtry, Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiaasen, Stephen King, Jeffery Archer, and P.G. Wodehouse.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I suppose my primary “genre” would be considered newspaper columns but I have also tried my hand at fiction.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

My only current or future projects would be continuing to write occasional columns for my local newspaper, The Washington Times-Herald in Washington, IN.

 

Do you have an author website?

I don’t have an author website.

 

Do you have any blogs?

I don’t have a blog.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

People can find Laugh and Death on Amazon.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

I guess the one column in Laugh and Death that I would feature is the one called “Yes You Know…When You Have Children”.  The reason being it won a State Press award way back in 1987.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

I don’t have a pseudonym.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I wrote a novel that was not published and two screenplays that were not produced.  I have published only one book in my life, a collection of my columns and stories called Laugh and Death.  For that one success, I must thank a friend of mine who pestered me relentlessly, and publisher, Debi Stanton, who expressed confidence in my work and took a chance on it.

 

Leave a Reply

