Author Interview: Zrinka Jelic

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I always had a vivid imagination and made stories up, which got me in trouble on occasion since some kids believed me and ran to their parents because they too would like to attend the Dragon Flying Academy. Imagine my mom’s embarrassment when the said parents approached her telling her to make me stop lying. I wasn’t, I was just making up stories. It didn’t occur to me to start writing them down until my high school. My first written story was something about love triangle, can’t remember. It got torn up in a cat fight in the girls’ bathroom when one of the girls wouldn’t let the other read it.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

There are countless unknown authors whose work I absolutely adore and they need to be recognized. This is the shout out to my wonderful critique partner J.J. Keller, Barbara Doyle, Morgan O’Neill, Debbie Christiana, Joe Bonadonna and Erika Szabo. If you haven’t heard of these authors, give them a try, you won’t be disappointed.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Life in general. Life as it happens every day, writes stories all around us. All we have to do it pay attention to life.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I’m a romance writer, with spicy love scenes, and they seem to be getting spicier as I go. But I don’t write erotica or BDSM and don’t like reading such books either. So far I have one historical romance titled “Treasured Chest”, four paranormal romances with a light paranormal aspects, just enough to fit the genre check out “Bonded by Crimson”, “Rose of Crimson”, “Love Remains” and “Deck the Halls” (a holiday novella), and two contemporary romances (one romantic comedy “The Wedding Date” and the other romantic suspense “Dangerous Benevolence” originally published as “Gypsy Stone” to be re-released by The Wild Rose Press).

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Always. I’m starting on another contemporary romantic comedy that I tentatively titled “The Grandfather”. It’s a story of two souls that have lost their way and the hero’s grandfather works on getting them together before he dies. I know it doesn’t sound like much of a comedy, but there will be plenty funnies.

 

Do you have an author website?

I have a blog called Hello Romance but over the years I’ve hosted many authors of different genre, so it’s pretty eclectic.

 

Do you have any blogs?

See my answer above.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Find me on: Amazon, Facebook, and Twitter.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

My newest release and first self-published book The Wedding Date. I had immense fun writing it that made me realize I want to keep writing comedies.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

Not at the time. I’m still writing under my own name, but thinking I should get one. Just can’t think of anything that doesn’t send me into fit of giggles.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Yoga and physical fitness is my passion right up there with the writing.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

Well, I was born and raised in what was once known as Yugoslavia and today is Croatia. My family is from the coastal province of Dalmatia. Yes, that is where the famous dog breed came from, only they looked quite different from what we see today, bigger and with pointed snout. The first documented descriptions of the Dalmatian trace back to the early 18th century and the archives of the Archdiocese of Đakovo, where the dog was mentioned and described as Canis Dalmaticus in the church chronicles from 1719. But Dalmatians are not just dogs, in Croatia if someone calls someone a Dalmatian it usually means the person is from Dalmatia. To distinguish the dogs of this breed from people of this region, the dogs are referred to as Dalmatiner.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Lucy Maud Montgomery, Canadian author best known by her series of novels titled Anne of Green Gables, was my husband’s great-aunt. He is Montgomery and he explained it how they are related, but at the time it escapes me, though I conclude it was through her father, Hugh John Montgomery. I wanted to name my second child Lucy Maud if it was a girl, but it’s a boy, so he ended up with Luke Adrian Montgomery.

5 thoughts on “Author Interview: Zrinka Jelic

  1. deborahcordesauthor says:

    Zrinka, thank you for your kind words about Morgan O’Neill, which is the pseudonym for my co-author and me. And let me advise you about that very subject – I love your name, and I would not change it. It’s beautiful, original, and exotic-sounding to my American ears. Much success with your books. I look forward to reading more of your works!

    Like

  2. J. Arlene says:

    Quite right. Just paying attention to life and what goes on around us can give us all the plots we need. However, not everyone knows how to cut out all the banal moments so that the (life) story stays sharp and interesting. best of luck Zrinka (I’d love more details about that cat fight!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

