Author Interview: Dave Creek

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

As with so many people my age (I’m 63), my first faves were the Big Four of Clarke, Asimov, Heinlein, and Bradbury.  As time went on, I added Robert Silverberg, Ursula K. LeGuin, Harlan Ellison, Octavia Butler, Lois McMaster Bujold, and many others.  Current favorites include Nora Jemisin and Nnedi Okorafor.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

Anything from a specific emotion to a science tidbit.  Then you have to come up with the rest of the storyline.  Many times the original inspiration is muted or lost entirely by the time you create the actual story.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Mostly stories about characters who are explorers.  I have some space opera elements in some stories, but mostly they involve starships, alien contacts, cultural misunderstanding, “strange new worlds,” all that.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

I just released THE UNMOVING STARS, which is the third in my Great Human War trilogy.  You could also read it as a stand-alone, but it would contain spoilers for the two previous books, A CROWD OF STARS and THE FALLEN SUN.

 

Coming soon is CHANDA’S AWAKENING, my latest novel from Hydra Publications.  I don’t have a release date yet, but it should be Real Soon Now.

 

Do you have an author website?

Dave Creek.  It has more info on all my books and links to Amazon.

 

Do you have any blogs?

I have a Goodreads blog, but in all honestly it’s seldom updated.  I’ll give a brief review of a book there sometimes.

 

I’m trying to be more visible on Twitter.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Everything’s on Amazon at this link to my Amazon page.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I was a broadcast news producer for almost 40 years, and that gave me the ability usually to just sit and write without waiting for “inspiration.”

Leave a Reply

