Author Interview: Adam Bertocci

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

As early as first or second grade. I always liked writing stories and stuff as a kid, and in late elementary school I thought I might want to be a newspaper cartoonist (my ability to draw has not improved since those tender years, alas). I started focusing exclusively on screenwriting in high school and only came around to prose again in my late twenties after my release of my (non-prose) first book… I guess I figured, huh, I’d better write some books now. Long story short (too late, I know), my interest in writing has always been there, but prose writing wasn’t a part of it for a while. I shift forms. Maybe in my forties I’ll take up opera.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

In alphabetical order: Douglas Adams, Dave Barry, Michael Crichton, Robert Cormier, Joe Queenan. There are more, but I know them best as playwrights or other things first.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

I am, essentially, a mashup artist. This applies to literal mashups of existing properties (my best-known work is “Two Gentlemen of Lebowski”, a mashup of Shakespeare and “The Big Lebowski”) but, just, in general, I’m the kind of guy who sees two ideas or concepts or elements of his life and spots the unlikely connections between the two. I rarely get great ideas, but I’m good at synthesizing a bigger idea out of smaller ones.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

In prose I’m drawn to YA / NA comedies from a female perspective, but I’m not above dabbling in all-too-literary blather. In non-fiction writing, my great love is passionately overanalyzing movies. In screenwriting, I’m best-known for quirky comedy, but I pride myself on being a chameleon and a hired gun who can work with anything.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

My most recent not-very-short story, a Kindle exclusive, just dropped: “Confessions of an Off-Brand Princess”, retelling Cinderella as the tale of a put-upon birthday party princess-for-hire. (It’ll be free June 7 through 11 if this post happens to go up in that time frame.)

As for the future: a stage play of mine (a modernization of Shakespeare’s “The Tempest”) is slated to go up later this year, I have films I wrote in various stages of production, and in prose, I’m toying with doing something about a female pirate, or more likely just a young lady in a pirate costume; I have a fondness for Halloween scenes.

 

Do you have an author website?

Adam Bertocci

 

Do you have any blogs?

I have thus far resisted this temptation, but post infrequent musings on art and the creative lifestyle on my Faceboook fan page.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

Adam Bertocci has purchasable works for Kindle, but also free stuff to read online and short films to watch, also free.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

I’m gonna say “The Usual Werewolves”—a Kindle short story—for purely mercenary reasons: it seems to be my best-received work in prose, and who am I to argue with the will of the people.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No. That’s not some clever technique to obscure my pseudonym, I just don’t have any.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I watch entirely too many movies and see a reasonable amount of theatre. Shakespeare has become a big part of my life; for the past couple of years, I’ve gone out to the statue of the Bard in Central Park on his birthday and roped passersby into reading scenes with me or with each other.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I can read upside-down almost as quickly as I can right-side-up, and can write upside-down more legibly and quickly than most. The usefulness of these important skills to my writing career remains to be seen.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I will be accepting suggestions for a pseudonym in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

