Author Interview: George Kramer

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I was in fifth grade.  My teacher was reading aloud Treasure Island. I became bored. That was way before computers, and the internet. I started writing a story on a paper and pen.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Kevin Hearne of the Iron Druid series

David B. Coe (specifically the Case Files of Justis Fearsson trilogy.)

Jim Butcher of the Dresden Files

Stephen Baxter

Mary Shelley

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

The two greatest sources of my inspiration encompass my life. One source is in any given situation (social or otherwise), I can see something going on, and translate that into a book. One day, at work, I was walking by a table in the hallway, and it had a weird looking instrument on the top. I looked at it, then picked it up, and inspiration hit me on how to use it (somewhat modified) into the book I was writing at the time. Another instance was I was with a patient (I work in a large hospital in the surgery department), and the OR door was open. I could see into another OR. I saw the grain in the wood of the door that led to a sterile hallway. Immediately, I knew with certainty how the picture in the grain of wood would make it into another book I was writing. Another door, behind a bathroom door held a picture in the grain. But for years before I started writing the Arcadis series, I didn’t know what to do with the picture in my mind. When I started writing the first book, the inspiration to use the picture I saw came into being. It became the only picture in any of the Arcadis books.

The second source is by talking to people. You’d be amazed how I can extract ideas from people that the topic(s) are relevant to any given story I am writing, which had nothing to do with my books. It may have been something said in passing, or a topic about something unrelated, but something would trigger in my mind to make it into a story.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

I have written in the fantasy and medical horror/thriller genres. I am going to explore additional genres once I’ve completed a couple of projects.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Yes. Initially I was going to end my Arcadis series in book six. However, my small but growing fan base asked me to write a seventh. Another project is the sequel to my medical thriller/horror due to the outpouring of support from people that had read the first book. I am writing both books concurrently. I have various short stories that I want to re-read and perhaps enlarge or tweak.

 

Do you have an author website?

Yes, I do. Amazon

George Kramer

 

Do you have any blogs?

I had one but haven’t posted in a while.

 

Where can people find your work?  (To purchase or just to read)

Amazon

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

That would be a difficult choice but it would probably be the first in the Arcadis series. Arcadis: Prophecy

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No, but I may in the future. I have been giving it some thought.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

Just reading.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I was born in Brooklyn, New York. I am one of nine children, and a natural born triplet. We were the only triplets in elementary school, junior high school, and high school. My youngest brother was born deaf. All nine siblings are very close.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I love to word play. At work, I initiate rhyming day, choose a letter day, and various other games that make everyone (including myself) think.

Additionally, I enjoy starting a conversation, take a step back, and see where the topic eventually ends. One time I introduced a discourse about the quality of paper. I took a step back and by the end of the conversation they were talking about gun control. It was fascinating to me how one conversation led to another, then another, with the last topic not even remotely connected to the original subject.

 

Leave a Reply

