Author Interview: John Coundiff

*John Coundiff is another one of Pen It! Magazine’s featured authors. Read all about his fascinating material below:

 

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?

I was four, and I had just seen the re-release of the 1974 classic, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, at the drive-in.

 

Who are your favorite authors?

I wouldn’t say authors. I’d say I really idolize screen writers and people who push the limits in what they create. I’d have to say Clive Barker, Tobe Hooper, Paul Schrader, Wes Craven (the early years ‘70s-‘80s) and Paul Thomas Anderson.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

I always find inspiration in music. I would have to say music as a whole, especially when it comes from scenes in movies is the absolute best feeling. Whether it comes in the form of Halloween or The Shinning—or reaches out through the choosing of a particular song or grouping of songs, such as how Paul Thomas Anderson sets the mood and tone with his use of music from the 1970s in Boogie Nights or Magnolia.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Currently I’m working in both children’s books and horror novels. I’ve also written a horror screenplay.

 

Do you have any current or future projects?

Currently I’m very busy! With the release of my first children’s book, Lord Lovington Puppykins and the follow up with book #2 in the series, Lord Lovington Puppykins: Sky Racers to hit soon! I’m also working on book #3 Lord Lovington Puppykins In the Velvet Darkness. I’m also having my first horror screenplay, Zoe, shopped around to production studios, and it will also be available soon after in paperback. Also, currently, I’m working on two additional horror novellas at the same time with one titled, Pickaroon and the other titled London Hammer. I’ve also submitted two entries recently into the Pen It! Publications children’s picture book contest. One titled, All EYES Can Be SCARY In The DARK! Even To A SHARK! While the other’s titled, Dawn of The Living Snowballs. It has been a very busy year and, through it all, I have the comfort of knowing my beautiful and intelligent wife, Jennifer, has my back.

 

Do you have an author website?

For Lord Lovington Puppykins only. You can find updates and photos all on Facebook under the very name of my main corgi character, Lord Lovington Puppykins.

 

Do you have any blogs?

Not at this time. Too busy.

 

Where can people find your work? 

They can go to Amazon or Barnes & Noble to purchase a wonderful and heartfelt, 146 pages of Lord Lovington Puppykins!!! ROO!ROO!!

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be?

Zoe. This screenplay will make you think twice about who you’re dealing with in life, while scaring the hell out of you!

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

No need for one, but thanks for asking.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

At this time I really don’t want to think of writing as a hobby. For me, I’m going full time, drawing out creations from my mind and running with it full steam ahead. Who knows where or who I’ll be with 6 months or a year from now? I write what I feel. I don’t censor myself. I create what I think. Opinions be damned…. You know what they say about opinions.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

Maybe not interesting, but honest. I can’t write for everyone. I can’t please everyone. I do my best to entertain.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I love my wife Jennifer, my daughter Sydney and our corgi Lord Lovington Puppykins aka. Rocket.

Leave a comment