Author Interview: Madison Michael

How old were you when you knew you wanted to be a writer?
I wanted to be a writer when I was a girl reading Maud Hart Lovelace books. Her Betsy-Tacy series was about three young girls growing up together. I would mimic everything these girls did, with the help of two wonderful friends.. I was Tacy, and Tacy wanted to be a writer when she grew up. That message took hold in my brain and that was all it took to put and keep writing in my blood. I went on to study Journalism and I channel Tacy to this day.

 

Who are your favorite authors? (Please limit your answer to five or ten.)

Jane Austen, of course, Sylvia Day, Julia Quinn, Ken Follett, Amor Towles and Lucy Maud Montgomery.

 

What are your greatest sources of inspiration?

I get inspiration from everything around me including movies, TV, chats with friends, a new restaurant or a walk along Lake Michigan. I have been inspired by art festivals, dinner dates, bad hair days and memorable vacations. I try to keep my mind open to catch inspiration as it flies by. Sometimes I am lucky and it sticks.

 

What genre(s) do you write?

Romance – contemporary, suspense, and erotic romance.

Do you have any current or future projects?

I just released the third book in my Beguiling Bachelor series and now I am hard at work on the fourth and final book in the series. I have a time travel idea that may be a novel, or a novella later this year as well as several other ideas around locations in Chicago.

 

Where can people find your work?  (to purchase or just to read)

My books are available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes. In addition, right now my second book in the series, Beholden is available on inkitt for free.

 

If you could feature just one title, what would it be? 

My favorite is Beholden because I love watching the characters face their foibles and grow from them. But my fans prefer Bedeviled because of the suspense element.

 

Do you have any pseudonyms?

This is my pseudonym, but people think my real name, April Singer, is the pen name.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?

I love to read, duh, but I am also a movie junky. I knit, badly sometimes.. I love to take road trips and day trips and just explore new places and I cannot get enough politics. I watch multiple news stations into the wee hours of the morning more days than I should.

 

Tell us something interesting about yourself.

I have lived in the East, West, South and Midwest over the course of my adult life and I think it has shaped my view of life. We are all Americans but our cultures – and accents – differ dramatically by region. I have absorbed some of that New England work ethic, Southern Hospitality and laid back California lifestyle and they have changed me for the better, as have the friends I have made in each region. I still call the Midwest home, and I am sure Chicago has the best food anywhere. But, I can drawl as well as any southerner and drop my r’s if necessary to compete with anyone from Maine to Connecticut.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Life is better with a pet.

Leave a comment